Bibliographic Details

Pachinko / Min Jin Lee.

Author / Creator Lee, Min Jin, author.
Edition First edition.
Imprint New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
©2017
Description 490 pages ; 24 cm
Language English
Subject Families -- Korea -- Fiction.
FICTION -- Literary.
FICTION -- Cultural Heritage.
FICTION -- Family Life.
FICTION -- Historical.
Families.
Koreans -- Japan -- Fiction.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Asian American.
FICTION / Sagas.
FICTION / Cultural Heritage.
FICTION / Family Life.
FICTION / Historical.
Korea.
Domestic fiction.
Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Format Print, Book
URL for this record http://pi.lib.uchicago.edu/1001/cat/bib/10967242
ISBN 9781455563937
1455563935
9781455569496
9781478907121
9781478967439
9781455563913
Summary "A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Regenstein, Bookstacks

Loading map link

Call Number: PS3612.E346 P33 2017

(Browse by Call Number)
Availability:
Holdings details from Regenstein, Bookstacks
c.1 LoanedDue: January 8, 2021 Request via Interlibrary Loan Need help? - Ask a Librarian
Shelved in: Regenstein Closed Stack